Carly Rae Jepsen – Run Away With Me

The opening sax is a bit overwhelming, but in the end, you’re stuck in my head, stuck on my heart, stuck in my body, body, and I’d love to Run Away With You. A classic and redeemer of modern pop music. 100/100.

This song has won a mini song contest hosted by me (the theme was “modern classics with different genres”), with 12 votes including my own and RateYourMusic’s ratings. Each song was given a score from 0 (very bad) to 20 (incredible). The point gap between worst and best was 52.24, while the runner up lost by 6.24 points. The full voting is here. The results from worst to best are:

Deftones Change
Chris Isaak Wicked Game
Tori Amos Winter
Coolio Gangster’s Paradise
Portishead Glory box
George Benson Give Me the Night
Seal Kiss From A Rose
Carly Rae Jepsen Run Away With Me

(Keeping in mind that Chris Isaak already established himself better than 7 other songs in shuffling within RateYourMusic, it’s clear that Carly Rae is in an entirely different league from my regular songs. However, she doesn’t always do so well in music contests, losing in a landslide against “Beautiful Ones” by Hurts in Redditvision, and against “Aries” by Fairfield Parlour in the Shuffle Game)

One thought on “Carly Rae Jepsen – Run Away With Me

Leave a comment