“River” by Joni Mitchell

Daily writing prompt
What is your favorite holiday? Why is it your favorite?

I’d probably have to pick Christmas. Despite the overwhelming about of Christmas songs, the holiday spirit still feels the most astounding and good for this. I dunno, there’s something about the winter movies, the cozy fires, skiing, and every festive. Valentines isn’t relevant due to lack of partners, July 4 never interested me, St. Patricks just seems like a silly little holiday, and even Thanksgiving feels just the turkey and not really any other related activities. Halloween is pretty cool but you only dress up costume for one day, so it just isn’t really that big in my opinion. Although I will admit since it’s very close to new years, Christmas also kind of cheats by leading to that next celebration.

Anyways, the song. It is slightly underwhelming, but seems more tolerable than the vast majority of Christmas songs. Not too shabby, I say.

Leave a comment