11/27/2017: Take a Hint (Victorious, 2014)

With minor key to begin with and a nice beat to match, Take a Hint is possibly one of the best songs on Victorious (although I have not heard them all so I don’t completely know).

it is our first same-sex duet that is featured, and also the first one that appears in a show (rather than a movie like High School Musical). I like how this song “censors” or skips inappropriate words or profanities by stopping right when it seems about to say them, which actually make the song cooler. Honestly, we’re so used to profanity that the lack of them is now what makes a song nice rather than the stress of them, as you can clearly tell from the lack of swear words in all of my favorite songs. Admittedly, I have some, but they use it sparsely and empower the message of the song rather than randomly thrown in.

Other than the clever “censoring” though, the rest of the song is still pretty cool. I love the “1…2…3…” counting that Jade manages, and the screech right at the “and I told you it was stop” accentuates the message of the song. I could easily imagine a pop star like Ariana Grande filling in the part for Jade.

Overall, this song I’d say is 4.5/5. I have the nightcore version on my playlist because the original’s just a tad bit slow, and the message gets across. I’m sure many gals can sympathize with these two and wants other guys to just “take a hint”.

LABEL: they only have “best friend’s brother” as their other song… so… two hit wonder?

Leave a comment