11/26/2017: Inclusion (ASLTROeMERIA, 2012)

Our first song in another language!

What to say. This song has a very good fantasy feel and not even knowing the lyrics, this song was impressive enough to be added to my favorites. But since we’re discussing it, we might as well make sure the lyrics are meaningful, and they’re not angelic heavenly chanting about taxes or something. Although it’d be hilarious if they did.

So, in the beginning, this song refers to the “seven colors of the rainbow gathers”, then the cool echoing part talks about “unrolling scrolls… a kingdom…flowing tears”, which is pretty damn cool. A story is slowly pieces together as a knight is mentioned, and imagery is referred with “wartime flames, the colorless sky”. If that wasn’t enough, the main subject is “the stone that hid away the radiance, granting the wish”, so I’m presuming that there is a magical type of relic that grants wishes. Perhaps the translation got broken somewhere, or maybe the Japanese translation is really vague and mysterious like this. Regardless, it’s kind of cool.

Let’s continue. The next verses talk about “the house and the sky, bursting into flames”, “blood streaking the rusted sword”. The imagery of violence is supported by the words “complete separation”. Finally, the lyrics say “people’s wanting are secondhand“. Despite the confusion, I believe this means people got too greedy. I have no idea how all these contribute the title “inclusion”, even so, this song is pretty cool.

So in a nutshell, you’ve got this crazy story with a fantasy theme matching the style of this song. Although even the translation is tricky to understand, we can get ideas of what is going on. This song is 90/100. It was cool to begin with, and now that I know what this song is about, it’s even better.

9/2021 re-review: 9 years in and the song still goes on quite well, with its strong strings not yet getting tiring. I will be reviewing more songs from this artist to see if they are a mere one hit. (Same score as before)

10/2021 note: I’ve recently been tracking the Indonesian cover of the song, which is vastly more popular. It adds unique voices in the beginning for more exotic feeling and middle part (feeling extra victorious in the “ehhhhh, eh ehhhhh, eh ehhhhh, eh ehhhh…” — you know what I mean). However, the more I listen the more I realize why I hadn’t rated the song higher. The bridge lasts a bit too long, with 8 measures of pattern melody A-melody B echoing back and forth. The song is very good, but I don’t think I’ll rate it any higher than 90.

Leave a comment