2021: Battle of the 94’s

As 2021 came around, I realized that Kids in the Dark was growing old on me (it already got thrown into 90’s and I didn’t do a rematch of 94’s!). With the primary top 94 out of the way, the rest of the competition was up for grabs. Hence, the battle arrives!

Currently, the top ideas are Racing Into Night, Loneliest Girl, Guitarmass, Shadows, the recently rising Fix, Fort Minor, and Style. Firstly, I like Racing, but its “sad lyrics against catchy melody” stubs it in its toe, making its win more doubtful. Loneliest Girl is also still decent, but against the other songs doesn’t have enough power and fit for my taste. Shadows is an interesting contestant. I haven’t listened to it recently, so it’s definitely winning in terms of freshness. But let’s continue analyzing the rest before coming to a conclusion. We all know and love Fix, so let’s skip that. Fort Minor is a primary top competitor as well, chugging along with its nice 100% power and will. Style is also very tricky to compare to the rest, so let’s add that to the mix.

In the end, I think Fix is the best out of all of them. Fort Minor and Shadows still got a bit old, and the uniqueness of Chris Lane creates an outstanding idea.

Leave a comment