Autoheart — Stalker’s Tango

It’s one long big flow that feels uncomfortable like the message it’s meant to deliver and the tango sound is well done. The chorus smoothness clashes with the verses, making me believe that they are meant to be the stalker trying to keep up with the rhythm of his love, but the “ever ever ever ever” repetition stress he’s obsessive and trying to fool himself.

The line “you’ll never meet another one of me” can be interpreted two ways, especially since the chord immediately unresolved after resolving. The only time where the song comes to a complete rest on a dominant chord is with the final line, “I’ll  never meet another one of you,” perhaps inferring that at heart, the unique nature of the love wasn’t completely wrong, and that if he wasn’t so creepy and uncomfortable, then it could possibly work out.

dont think it’s complicated, no matter what they say, I’ll never meet another one of you… 81/100

2022/08: For whatever reason, this is the most viewed review on my site. As such, I will re-evaluate the matchup between the 81’s for a more fair evaluation. The top winning song is Roll with the Wind by Rybak, which I think is a decent choice since “Rewrite the Stars” is a little more obvious pop-song oriented, despite the subtle lyrics. Either way, I’m going to stick with Rybak as the current champion holder for simplicity.

We already know what Tango is about. The quickness with the lyrics does cause the repetition which I believed prevented this from rising above any higher than 85/100. Roll with the wind has simpler love song lyrics, but it does the trick.

Rybak:

“There’s a hole in my heart
And a picture in a frame driving me insane”…

along with the catchy “ai ai ai, wanna roll with the wind…”. Both are love songs in the same sense, but Roll with the wind seems slightly stronger. We know I’m always a sucker for the violin, and Rybak blames himself earlier on in the song, while Tango requires some subtlety to notice “you’ll never meet another me” versus “I’ll never meet another you”. 

Rybak:

[I would never blame you for the heartache
I would never blame you for the tears
I blame my stubborn heart, soul, body
Every single thing around me stays the same no matter what]

While Tango is admittedly more unique, the relatively monotonous voice is difficult to listen to. Roll with the wind seems to have more dynamics and ups and downs. Rybak adds some gaps in between for interludes that tell a full story, while Tango feels like an incomplete snippet. Something extra, that you may not get. Just like the Stalker, never obtaining his love. Perhaps it’s fitting….

Still. After two years, the winner is still **Roll With the Wind.**.

Leave a comment