Kiss From A Rose – Seal

To express my dissatisfaction at the hands of Spotify’s Discovery Weekly, I shall review an actually *good* slow song. This classic pop song emotionally keeps us interested with a cool melody (11/8 along with 10/8 bars, I believe?), and a powerful chorus. The way the tune swells with “my eyes become larger” fits perfectly. Indeed, your song is like a Kiss From a Rose. I put this on a “mini contest” and it got second place against Run Away With Me, which, if I didn’t like Carly so much, I would’ve been sad about. 99/100

Also, how do people think it’s about drugs? The way the song is so soothing and he talks about how he is like a lighthouse in the sea and kisses akin to a woman… I don’t believe anyone would think this way about this song… people these days.

This song has won a round in the shuffle game. The other songs were:

2. Plastic Love [English version] – Mariya Takuechi (-11)
3. Concrete Angel – Martina McBride (-12)
4. Stalker’s Tango  – Autoheart (-15)
5. It’s Raining After All – Tuyu (-24)
6. Outta My Mind – Monsune (-35)
7. Misery – Maroon 5 (-36)
8. Mad Hatter – Melanie Martinez (-45)
9. Leave Me Alone – Rybak (-58)
10. Hello Shadow – Skygge Music (-67)

Comments regarding Kiss From a Rose:

“Yep, I know it’s sappy, but it’s a gorgeous melody. And his voice is sublime.” /TBoyle

“Seal has a nice voice and this is a pleasant tune strongly, passionately delivered.” /Stonehenge59

“Haven’t heard this one in a while…but loved it when it came out. Don’t know if Seal wrote it…but it deserved the accolades it got back in the day. Inspiring, pretty, dramatic…very good stuff.” /AlexMontrose

“Just an excellent pop song. It’s got beauty, drama, great singing, nice piano, and I even like that oboe or bassoon or whatever it is. And some gorgeous harmonies to boot.” /Thoughtclaw

“Yeah, this is a quality pop song. He really has an excellent voice (enough of one to make me a little curious to his other material). It’s extremely well written and he knows exactly when to tone it down or go more dramatic at which section of the song. Feels quite enjoyably grandiose and triumphant, too.” /ForeverTreesGreen

“I like this Seal song, particularly when he punches the “Baby” at the beginning of the chorus. Back in the infant days of my Poor Man’s Ipod, I kept trying to add his “Out of the Window” song to it, but the song was locked down tight, and I could never find it on YouTube. Now, I see that it’s available. So thanks, Seldiora, for reminding me that I really liked that Seal song. I had forgotten about it.” /bblake

“When I went to see Mac DeMarco live back in October, he thought it would be funny to spontaneously cover this song. It was. That was a fun night. I don’t really think I have much to say about Kiss from a Rose. It’s a classic. The chorus is powerful as is Seal’s voice. I know people always joke that the album this came from is one of the albums most commonly found in used CD bins but the rest of the album must be terrible if it’s bad enough to outweigh the brilliance of Kiss from a Rose.” /lh_reviews_music_128

“There is times when I’m not crazy about Seal’s music but his voice usually wins me over anyway. Here the music is decent-smooth but a bit moody and he knows just to press down vocally for effect. It has a great easygoing flow to it.” /Musiclover9

“Solid song, he has a good voice and the instrumental fits well, not that blows me away but nothing that this song does wrong either.” /Cyasera

“Used to hear this one so often that I eventually turned the dial whenever it came on, despite liking it. That’s not a problem now, so I can judge it objectively. His ultra-sincere vocal was a relief in the ultra-ironic 90’s. Today, it borders on precious during the verses. But the chorus is still as excellent as it ever was. And I also still like the twisting melody.” /Ellison

“I think it’s a perfect pop ballad, haven’t heard anything better in the genre to this day. There’s a sense of vitality in Seal’s voice that I enjoy very much.” /secret_bird

“This is a high quality pop ballad from Seal with excellent production from former Buggle Trevor Horn. The gradual buildup works wonderfully, Seal delivers a great vocal performance, and the chorus feels absolutely triumphant – hard to find any flaws here.” /thethirdcurry

One thought on “Kiss From A Rose – Seal

Leave a comment