Ichiban no Takaramono (LiSA, 2010)

Summary

PROS: Nostalgic with the show, bittersweet story

CONS: four chord progression, voice tries too hard, specific taste

Full info

OMG, can you believe we just stumbled upon this awesome song?

While this translates to “My Most Precious Treasure”, this may as well be a top contender for “My Most Precious Song”. With incredibly bittersweet lyrics, a lengthy 6 minutes, Ichiban no Takaramono challenges its seemingly simple four-chord progression with a touching message– even if admittedly tugging at heartstrings in an almost-manipulative manner.

“If we see each other’s faces, we always fight.
That’s a good memory too.” The song begins.

Immediately we see the conflict, but also the regret.

The verses set up the powerful chorus:
“Even if I’m alone, I’ll go, even if it’s difficult.
I’ll definitely bring the dream I had with you.
I’m glad it was with you, and nobody else.
But when I woke up in the morning, you weren’t there.”

This supports the main plot of Angel Beats, how the students gradually disappear and move on with their lives, but through their experiences they manage to sympathize with each other even through their fights and  conflicts. Yuri, the character who relates to this song, has her disability in her life that further supports the message, that’s the boy will love her regardless of her problems. With the end of our last verse, the singer states “time is ever-changing[…]but if I try and close my eyes, I can hear someone’s laughter[…]that is my most precious treasure.”

With the guitar closing in, slowing down the song…. it is reminiscent of the past, our relations, the joy, the pain, the memories… Indeed, Ichiban No Takaramono deserves no less than a perfect score. :’)

Critic’s note: Do note that the voice is far from perfect, especially since it had to believably fit an anime girl. This may have been the deciding factor that allowed Run Away With Me to topple this.

One thought on “Ichiban no Takaramono (LiSA, 2010)

Leave a comment