Good Time (Owl City ft. Carly Rae Jepsen, 2011)

 

Years ago, this song was my favorite– my number one favorite. The competition was between Complicated by Avril Lavigne and this song for years before they both got boring and Crystallize is my current favorite. Let me discuss why it was my all time favorite and now it isn’t. The song is very upbeat and optimistic, and it doesn’t even infer sex or love, the “easy way out” as I like to call it. Admittedly, the “whoa whoa whoa” is the classical millennial whoop, which may have led to its downfall, but originally it added to the catchiness of the song. The almost-duet style of the song is also very interesting. Adam begins with his

“Woke up on the right side of the bed
What’s up with this Prince song inside my head?
Hands up if you’re down to get down tonight

Slept in all my clothes like I didn’t care
Hopped into a cab, take me anywhere
I’m in if you’re down to get down tonight”

assisted by Carly’s

“Good morning and good night
I wake up at twilight
It’s gonna be alright
We don’t even have to try
It’s always a good time”

and later

(with a lovely bridge and a — is that a triangle or a bell? Interesting either way!)

“Freaked out, dropped my phone in the pool again
Checked out of my room hit the ATM
Let’s hang out if you’re down to get down tonight”

Throughout the entire song, the beat is very well done, and the two compliment each other perfectly. The big con is that the song is arguably too “pop”, and you can tell with the overall lyrics that the chorus repeats probably too much for the song’s own good.

A long time ago, I would have given this song a perfect 5/5. But this song doesn’t stand up to the test of time, and now it’s only 4/5. But that is still a good score. There aren’t many songs that are this optimistic, and the combination of the singers is well done, even with the lazy “whoa whoa whoa” thrown in there countless times.

Leave a comment