Broken (lovelytheband, 2017)

So this Monday, sadly no song successfully got into my favorites but this one got pretty close. Its handclap rhythm is unique, although four-chord progression reduces its creativity. Plus it sounds quite similar to “kids” by MGMT. The chorus also doesn’t sound very creative:

“I like that you’re broken
Broken like me
Maybe that makes me a fool
I like that you’re lonely
Lonely like me
I could be lonely with you”

So overall, 3.2/5 (64/100). I can tell based upon my rock and pop selections, Spotify correctly guessed I’d somewhat like this song. However, the lyrics feel empty for the most part and it doesn’t sound the most unique. Maybe over multiple listens, it will eventually win me over, but for now, it’s a bit a ways until it can get onto my favorites list. The other song that came close was “planes, trains and cars” by We the kings, which again, is four-chord progression. The band makes it sound nice, but it’s not very impressive.

Leave a comment